June 3rd, 2016

The Chorus has such a long, rich history and has transformed tremendously over the decades. To honor this history, we are planning a celebration for our upcoming centennial anniversary. The Centennial Committee, which was formed earlier this year, currently consists of five undergraduates and one recent alumna:  Liz Mueller ‘18 (Committee Chair), Sarah Fortna ‘17 (Alumni Outreach), Nereida Ramirez ‘17 (Publications Chair), Stephany Kim ‘19, Johnna Margalotti ‘19, and Abby Maranga ‘16. Tasked with creating the best possible celebration of the Chorus’ 100th birthday, the committee hopes to work with former, current, and future members of the Chorus to make the year as special as possible.

While doing some research with the help of Corey Ryan Earle ‘07, a Glee Club alumnus and the Associate Director of Student and Young Alumni Programs in the Office of Alumni Affairs, the Centennial Committee discovered an exciting piece of Chorus history. In recent years, we have been branding the Chorus as “established in 1921”; however, our founding year was more accurately the academic year of 1920-21. As such, the committee has officially decided that our year of celebrations will take place during the 2020-2021 school year. The 19th amendment was also passed in 1920, giving women the right to vote--1920 was a great year for women! As we research our history and plan the centennial celebration, we will share updates with all of you.

Although none of the current Centennial Committee members will still be undergraduates by the time the
centennial rolls around, we all plan to actively contribute to the planning in the years leading up to the celebrations. However, a committee comprised of only four class years is not enough to represent the Chorus’ rich 100-year history. If you have ideas for ways to commemorate this milestone, or if you would like to become an active member of the committee and assist with the planning, please reach out to us at centennial@chorus.cornell.edu. We look forward to celebrating with you!


With Chorus love and celebrations,

Sarah Fortna ‘17 and Liz Mueller ‘18

Centennial Committee